​​​​Rates during Covid-19

The Covid-19 pandemic is changing the world as we know it. The actual impacts are unknowable.  What we do know is that our essential services need to continue and that’s what rates pay for. We are very aware though  that some people in our community do have financial difficulties, and we are always open to working  something out with them.​  ​​The following is a range of resources that may be available to you to assist in meeting your requirements to pay your rates.

Government resources

The government has provided a number of financial support options including the Mortgage repayment holiday scheme, support through Work and Income, the Employer wage subsidy scheme and the Essential Workers Leave Payment Scheme. Full details are available on the covid19.govt.nz​ website.

Rates rebates

A rates rebate is a partial refund for people who pay rates to council and the Rates Rebate Scheme provides a rebate of up to $655 for low income earners who were paying rates for the home in which they were living on 1 July 2020. Links to full details and a rates rebate application form are on our Rates Rebate Scheme page​.

Rates remission

​​​​​​​​​​​​Both Opotiki District Council and Bay of Plenty Regional Council apply policy on rates remission and postponement.​ We already have remission policies for financial hardship in place. These are available all the time, not just when there is a pandemic or something of national significance. Full details of rates remission policies are available on our Rates Remissions and Postponements page.

Payment plan

If you think you are going to have trouble paying your rates on time, please do not hesitate to contact Council to discuss the issue; phone 07 3153030 and ask for the rates team.​

Ways to pay

There are a number of ways property owners can pay their rates electronically through Telebanking, Internet Banking, online by Credit or Debit Card or Real Time Debit (BNZ and Westpac Bank only). 

For full details on each option visit our Payment Options page​​.​​

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Rates payment due dates

Rates are payable by instalment and are due on or before: 

Instalment One:  21 August 2020

Instalment Two:  20 November 2020

Instalment Three:  26 February 2021

Instalment Four:  21 May 2021

A 10% penalty may be incurred on any part of a rates invoice that is not paid by the due date specified on the invoice.

​How to make rates payments

Payment may be made by either CASH, CHEQUE, EFTPOS, TELEBANKING, INTERNET BANKING, CREDIT CARD/DEBIT CARD or REAL TIME DEBIT (BNZ and Westpac Bank only). All cheques are to be made payable to the Opotiki District Council.

For full details on all payment options see our Payment Options page.

You may wish to pay your rates on a more regular basis by either direct credit or debit through your bank account.  This method is available on the basis that each instalment is cleared in full by the time the penalty dates arrive.

You can download a copy of the Automatic Payment form (PDF, 99KB) directly from our website and lodge this with your bank.

You can download a copy of the Direct Debit form (PDF, 185KB) directly from our website and lodge this with Council.

Or make an online payment now


All enquiries regarding Opotiki District Council rates should be directed to the Customer Service Centre situated at the Council Office, 108 St John Street, Opotiki. Telephone (07) 315-3030, Fax (07) 315-7050 or email info@odc.govt.nz

All enquiries regarding Bay of Plenty Regional Council rates should be directed to the Regional Council Offices, located at Quay Street, Whakatane. Free phone from Opotiki 0800-368-267, otherwise (07) 922-3390.​​

Page reviewed: 31 Jul 2020 10:55am