​​​​Final results for the Ōpōtiki District Council 2019 local election are now available and listed in the table below.

Thank you to all the candidates for standing and everyone who voted.​​ Our district was 18th out of all councils for voter turn out with a final count of 54%.

Result:LGE 2019 - Final   
Result Type:Final   
Candidates sorted by:Votes   
Generated on:Friday 18 October 2019   
Elections:Ōpōtiki District Council   
Election:12 - Ōpōtiki District Council   

Mayor - Ōpōtiki District Council


Number of vacancies:1   
Candidate Voting IDCandidate NameAffiliationVotes ReceivedRank
107RIESTERER, Lyn 13781​
102DOBIE, Alex 673 
106RĀPIHANA, Louis 468 
103IRVING, Peter 247 
105MCROBERTS, Haki 198 
101CHEN, Xiao Yu 76 
104KEANE, Les 26 
108Informal 12 
109Blank 23 

Coast Ward

Number of vacancies:1   
Candidate Voting IDCandidate NameAffiliationVotes ReceivedRank
202RĀPIHANA, Louis 2361
201MCROBERTS, Haki 120 
203WAENGA, Allen 106 
204Informal 0 
205Blank 7 

Ōpōtiki Ward

Number of vacancies:3   
Candidate Voting IDCandidate NameAffiliationVotes ReceivedRank
245HOWE, Barry 9401
242BROWNE, Shona Rosalie 7342
249NELSON, Steve 727​3
244DOBIE, Alex 533 
241BLACK, PaulaIndependent397 
248NEISH, Laura 353 
246IRVING, Peter 296 
243CHEN, Xiao Yu 74 
247KEANE, Les 59 
250Informal 0 
251Blank 13 

Waioeka-Waiōtahe Ward

Number of vacancies:2   
Candidate Voting IDCandidate NameAffiliationVotes ReceivedRank
223HOCART, Debi 6141
225MOORE, DavidIndependent5802​
224KERR, LewIndependent368 
221COLLIER, Michael Spike 244 
222FINDLAY, Ron 218 
226Informal 3 
227Blank 13 ​

The existing Coast Community Board members, Michael Collier, Gail Keepa, Tiaki Parata and Allen Waenga are elected unopposed as 2019-22 Coast Community Board Members.

Daily voting returns

​​​2019 Local Elections - Opotiki District Council daily returns schedule - FINAL​ (PDF, 131KB)​​

Candidate expense return forms for 2019


Declaration of results of election for the Opotiki District Council 2019 elections:


Why voting matters

Ōpōtiki's Local Government election was held on Saturday 12 October 2019 with voting closing at 12 noon. 

What matters to you? Local government shapes where you live. It’s the footpaths you walk on, the roads you drive on, the water your drink, and the parks and libraries you enjoy. It’s also about culture, community events, economic development and much more.​ If it matters to you, vote in Local Elections.

How do I enrol?

​To vote in local elections, you must be enrolled to vote. In New Zealand, enrolment for all elections is managed by the Electoral Commission.

If you voted in previous local or parliamentary elections, you should still be enrolled. If you have moved recently, you may need to update your details.

To find out if you are enrolled, or to find out how to enrol, visit the Electoral Commission website or call 0800 36 76 56.

How do I vote?

If you are enrolled to vote, you will receive voting papers in the mail for Local Elections.

Completed voting papers are then posted back to our Electoral Officer.

Who you can vote for

Ōpōtiki district is made up of three electoral wards. Where you live, determines which ward you get to vote in and how many elected members you get to vote for.  The only exception to this is your vote for Mayor.
In Ōpōtiki, elections are held for 1 Mayor (elected at large), 1 Coast Ward Councillor, 2 Waioeka/Waiotahe Ward Councillors, 3 Ōpōtiki ​Ward Councillors and 4 Coast Community Board Members.

​​​You also get to vote for Bay of Plenty Regional Council Members  and Bay of Plenty District Health Board Members.​

Candidates for the 2019 Opotiki District Council Local Elections​ were:

Mayor (1 Vacancy)

Xiao Yu CHEN - Candidate profile statement (PDF, 36KB)

Alex DOBIE - Candidate profile statement (PDF, 199KB)

Peter IRVING - Candidate profile statement (PDF, 160KB)

Les KEANE - Candidate profile statement(PDF, 34KB)

Haki MCROBERTS - Candidate profile statement (PDF, 170KB)

Louis RĀPIHANA - Candidate profile statement (PDF, 177KB)

​Lyn RIESTERER​ - Candidate profile statement (PDF, 183KB)

Coast Ward Councillor (1 Vacancy)

Haki MCROBERTS - Candidate profile statement (PDF, 170KB)

Louis RĀPIHANA - Candidate profile statement (PDF, 177KB)

Allen WAENGA - Candidate profile statement (PDF, 180KB)

Opotiki Ward Councillor (3 Vacancies)

Paula BLACK - Independent - Candidate profile statement (PDF, 146KB)

Shona BROWNE - Candidate profile statement (PDF, 151KB)

Xiao Yu CHEN - Candidate profile statement (PDF, 36KB)

Alex DOBIE - Candidate profile statement (PDF, 199KB)

Barry HOWE - Candidate profile statement (PDF, 155KB)

Peter IRVING - Candidate profile statement (PDF, 160KB)

Les KEANE - Candidate profile statement (PDF, 34KB)

Laura NEISH - Candidate profile statement (PDF, 171KB)

Steve NELSON - Candidate profile statement (PDF, 175KB)

Waioeka-Waiotahe Ward Councillor (2 Vacancies)

Michael Spike COLLIER - Candidate profile statement (PDF, 182KB)

Ron FINDLAY - Candidate profile statement (PDF, 176KB)

Debi HOCART - Candidate profile statement (PDF, 173KB)

Lew KERR - Independent - Candidate profile statement (PDF, 165KB)

David MOORE - Independent - Candidate profile statement(PDF, ​161KB)

Coast Community Board Member (4 Vacancies)

Michael Spike COLLIER

Gail Maria KEEPA



​​​The existing Coast Community Board members, Michael Collier, Gail Keepa, Tiaki Parata and Allen Waenga are elected unopposed as 2019-22 Coast Community Board Members.

Unopposed candidates have yet to be sworn in.

Notice of Day of Election​ for the Opotiki District Council 2019 elections (PDF, 107KB)

​​​Facts, timetable and FAQs for the 2019 Local Election

Elections policies, protocols, guidelines and guides for the 2019 Local Election

Elections Signs - General Conditions Applicable To All Areas Policy​ (PDF, 90KB)​
Pre-Election Protocol Policy​ (PDF, 83KB)
Social Media Guidelines for Candidates​ (PDF, 67KB)
Opotiki District Council 2019 Candidate Information Handbook (PDF, 3.20MB)

The 2019 Pre-Election Report (PDF, 1.77MB) provides information to encourage informed debate ahead of the 2019 Local Government elections.

Vote 2019 Candidate Guide​ (PDF, 779KB)

​News releases and media for the 2019 Local Election

1 - Council prepares for local body elections​ - 15 March 2019

2 - Wherever you pay rates it pays to vote​ - 22 May 2019

3 - Get information and support before nominations open - 24 June 2019

4 - Nominations open for 2019 Local Authority Elections​ - 19 July 2019

5 - Final call for candidates - 9 August 2019

6 - Call for candidates for Coast Community Board​ - 14 August 2019

7 - Council contenders put their best feet forward​ - 22 August 2019

8 - Facebook - It's not too late to enrol to vote​ - 9 September 2019

9 - Voting opens in 2019 local elections​ - 19 September 2019

10 - Voting papers should have arrived​ - 27 September 2019

11 - Post your vote in time to make it count​ - 3 October 2019

12 - Have you missed the deadline to post your vote back?​ - 8 October 2019

 ​​Includes a copy of our 'What matters to you?' Vote video

13 - Too busy this week to vote?​ - 11 October 2019​

14 - Facebook - Final call for votes​ - 12 October 2019

15 - Initial progress results available - 12 October 2019

16 - Preliminary results available​ - 13 October 2019

17 - Final results available​ - 21 October 2019​

​Do you live ​in one area and pay rates on a property in another?

You may qualify to vote more than once. Please call our Electoral Officer on 0800 922 822 to discuss enrolling as a ratepayer elector and making your special vote.​

Information requested by candidates for the 2019 Local Election
This enabled Council information to be available to all candidates on an equal basis as per our Elections Protocols policy and can be viewed on our Information requested by candidates page​.

​Results for the 2016 Opotiki District Council Local Elections
Page reviewed: 21 Jan 2020 9:57am